Home / Nervous system / Lidocaine
ATC N01BB02 · Amides
Lidocaine shortage
As of 2 Nov 2026, Lidocaine has a reported shortage in 9 of the 16 countries we track (United States, Canada, Italy, Spain, Austria, Switzerland, Norway, Sweden, Australia), covering 40 products from 12 companies.
Countries9/16
Products40packs or presentations
Companies123 listed
Short since22 Feb 201214.7 years ago
Earliest return9 Dec 2026company estimate
Main reasonNot stated
United States18 products shortCanada3 products shortGermanyNo reported shortageFranceNo reported shortageItaly5 products shortSpain1 product shortIrelandNo reported shortageAustria1 product shortBelgiumNo reported shortageSwitzerland2 products shortCzechiaNo reported shortageNorway4 products shortSweden4 products shortJapanNo reported shortageNew ZealandNo reported shortageAustralia2 products short
Timeline
United StatesCanadaItalySpainAustriaSwitzerlandNorwaySwedenAustralia
Solid bars run from the reported start to today; faded bars show the time left until the expected return. An arrow means no return date was given.
Which companies are short
products short, all countriesListed: Pfizer PFE · NYSE, Fresenius Kabi FRE · Xetra, Aspen APN · JSE
Compared with similar medicines
ATC group N01BB · AmidesAffected products
| Country | Product | Company | Since | Expected back | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 1,000 mg/50 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4277-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 200 mg/20 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4276-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (0.5%; 5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4275-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Other |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 400 mg/20 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4277-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 500 mg/50 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4276-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 20 mg/2 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4713-32) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Other |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 200 mg/5 mL (4%; 40 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4283-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 300 mg/20 mL (1.5%; 15 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4776-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 50 mg/5 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4713-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 200 mg/10 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4282-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (0.5%; 5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4278-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 300 mg/30 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4279-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/2 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4282-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .4 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9594-10) | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 25 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .4 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9594-20) | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 25 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .8 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9598-20) | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 25 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 1%, USP (For Cardiac Use Only) 50 mg/5 mL (10 mg/mL) LifeShield™ ABBOJECT® Glass Syringe (20 G x 1 1/2) discontinuation | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 7 Nov 2025 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2%, USP (For Cardiac Use Only) 100 mg/5 mL (20 mg/mL) LifeShield® ABBOJECT® Glass Syringe (20 G x 1 1/2) discontinuation | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 7 Nov 2025 | not given | Not stated |
| CA | LIDOCAINE HYDROCHLORIDE INJECTION USP (5mL ampoules) | FORMATIVE PHARMA INC. | 24 Sep 2026 | not given | Manufacturing problem Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practices |
| CA | LIDOCAINE HYDROCHLORIDE INJECTION USP (5mL vials) anticipated | FORMATIVE PHARMA INC. | 30 Nov 2026 | not given | Manufacturing problem Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practices |
| CA | LIDOCAINE HYDROCHLORIDE INJECTION USP (5mL) anticipated | FORMATIVE PHARMA INC. | 9 Feb 2027 | not given | Manufacturing problem Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practices |
| IT | LIDOCAINA CLORIDRATO FISIOPHARMA | FISIOPHARMA S.R.L. | 11 Apr 2025 | not given | Commercial decision or withdrawal Motivi commerciali: forniture discontinue |
| IT | TRUVINUT | GRUNENTHAL ITALIA S.R.L. | 15 Jun 2025 | not given | Commercial decision or withdrawal Sospensione commercializzazione |
| IT | LIDOCAINA KABI | FRESENIUS KABI ITALIA S.R.L. | 5 Aug 2025 | not given | Manufacturing problem Problemi produttivi |
| IT | LIDOFAST | AZIENDE CHIMICHE RIUNITE ANGELINI FRANCESCO A.C.R.A.F. S.P.A. | 3 Nov 2025 | not given | Commercial decision or withdrawal Motivi commerciali (carenza relativa solo al canale retail) |
| IT | LIDOFAST | AZIENDE CHIMICHE RIUNITE ANGELINI FRANCESCO A.C.R.A.F. S.P.A. | 31 Jan 2026 | not given | Commercial decision or withdrawal Motivi commerciali (carenza relativa solo al canale retail) |
| ES | XILONIBSA 10 mg/pulsación, solución para pulverización cutánea, 1 frasco de 50 ml | Laboratorios Inibsa S.A. | 27 Oct 2026 | 9 Dec 2026 | Not stated |
| AT | Xylocain 2 % - Gel, 1 Stück limited | Aspen Pharma Trading Limited | 23 Apr 2026 | 31 Jan 2027 | Manufacturing problem Kapazitätsengpässe bei der Herstellung |
| CH | LIDOCAIN Bichsel 0.5% 50 mg/10ml 10 x 10 ml anticipated | Laboratorium Dr. G. Bichsel AG | 30 Nov 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| CH | LIDOCAIN Bichsel 1% 100 mg/10ml 10 Amp 10 ml LIDOCAIN Bichsel 1% 50 mg/5ml 10 Amp 5 ml anticipated | Laboratorium Dr. G. Bichsel AG | 30 Nov 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| NO | Lidokain Aguettant 10 mg/ml injeksjonsvæske, oppløsning i ferdigfylt sprøyte, 10x10 ml ferdigfylt sprøyte | Laboratoire Aguettant | 1 Oct 2025 | 1 Oct 2027 | Commercial decision or withdrawal Kommersielle grunner |
| NO | Lidokain Aguettant 20 mg/ml injeksjonsvæske, oppløsning i ferdigfylt sprøyte, 10x10 ml ferdigfylt sprøyte | Laboratoire Aguettant | 1 Oct 2025 | 1 Oct 2027 | Commercial decision or withdrawal Kommersielle grunner |
| NO | Lidocaine Accord 20 mg/ml injeksjonsvæske, oppløsning, 20 ml hetteglass | Accord Healthcare B.V. | 28 Dec 2025 | 1 Sep 2030 | Increased demand Uventet økt etterspørsel |
| NO | Lidocaine Accord 10 mg/ml injeksjonsvæske, oppløsning, 20 ml hetteglass | Accord Healthcare B.V. | 1 Oct 2026 | 31 Jan 2027 | Commercial decision or withdrawal Kommersielle grunner |
| SE | Lidokain Aguettant 10 mg/ml Förfylld spruta, 10 x 10 ml | Laboratoire Aguettant | 1 Oct 2025 | 1 Oct 2027 | Not stated |
| SE | Lidokain Aguettant 20 mg/ml Förfylld spruta, 10 x 10 ml | Laboratoire Aguettant | 1 Oct 2025 | 1 Oct 2027 | Not stated |
| SE | Lidocaine Accord 10 mg/ml Ampull, 10 x 10 ml | Accord Healthcare B.V. | 18 May 2026 | 31 Dec 2026 | Not stated |
| SE | Xylocain utan konserveringsmedel 10 mg/ml Ampull, 5 x 10 ml (blisterförpackning) | Aspen Pharma Trading Limited | 21 Sep 2026 | 16 Feb 2027 | Not stated |
| AU | XYLOCAINE 2% lidocaine hydrochloride 400mg/20mL injection ampoule | 23 Oct 2026 | 22 Dec 2026 | Not stated | |
| AU | Xylocaine 2% JELLY tube | 23 Oct 2026 | 11 Dec 2026 | Not stated |
"Expected back" is the date the company gave the authority, when it gave one. Ask a pharmacist about alternatives.