Home / Lidocaine / United States
US ATC N01BB02 · updated 2 Nov 2026
Lidocaine shortage in United States
Is there a Lidocaine shortage in United States?
Yes. As of 2 Nov 2026, 18 Lidocaine products are reported short in United States, the first since 22 Feb 2012. No return date has been given. Main reason: not stated.
Also short in Canada, Italy, Spain, Austria, Switzerland, Norway, Sweden, Australia. All countries.
Affected products in United States
| Country | Product | Company | Since | Expected back | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 1,000 mg/50 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4277-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 200 mg/20 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4276-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (0.5%; 5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4275-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Other |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 400 mg/20 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4277-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 500 mg/50 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4276-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 20 mg/2 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4713-32) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Other |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 200 mg/5 mL (4%; 40 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4283-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 300 mg/20 mL (1.5%; 15 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4776-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 50 mg/5 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4713-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 200 mg/10 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4282-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (0.5%; 5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4278-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 300 mg/30 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4279-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/2 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4282-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 22 Feb 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .4 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9594-10) | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 25 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .4 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9594-20) | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 25 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .8 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9598-20) | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 25 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 1%, USP (For Cardiac Use Only) 50 mg/5 mL (10 mg/mL) LifeShield™ ABBOJECT® Glass Syringe (20 G x 1 1/2) discontinuation | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 7 Nov 2025 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2%, USP (For Cardiac Use Only) 100 mg/5 mL (20 mg/mL) LifeShield® ABBOJECT® Glass Syringe (20 G x 1 1/2) discontinuation | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 7 Nov 2025 | not given | Not stated |
Source
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Drug Shortages via openFDA. Official list. Shortages the FDA lists as current, plus products to be discontinued; one row per package (NDC).