Home / Digestive tract and metabolism / Atropine
ATC A03BA01 · Belladonna Alkaloids, Tertiary Amines
Atropine shortage
As of 2 Nov 2026, Atropine has a reported shortage in 5 of the 15 countries we track (United States, France, Ireland, Czechia, Sweden), covering 26 products from 10 companies.
Countries5/15
Products26packs or presentations
Companies104 listed
Short since1 Jan 201214.8 years ago
Earliest return20 Nov 2026company estimate
Main reasonNot stated
United States19 products shortCanadaNo reported shortageGermanyNo reported shortageFrance4 products shortItalyNo reported shortageSpainNo reported shortageIreland1 product shortAustriaNo reported shortageBelgiumNo reported shortageSwitzerlandNo reported shortageCzechia1 product shortNorwayNo reported shortageSweden1 product shortJapanNo reported shortageAustraliaNo reported shortage
Timeline
United StatesFranceIrelandCzechiaSweden
Solid bars run from the reported start to today; faded bars show the time left until the expected return. An arrow means no return date was given.
Which companies are short
products short, all countriesListed: Fresenius Kabi FRE · Xetra, Pfizer PFE · NYSE, Hikma HIK · LSE, Bausch Health BHC · NYSE / TSX
Affected products
| Country | Product | Company | Since | Expected back | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .4 mg/1 mL (NDC 0517-1004-25) | American Regent, Inc. | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .4 mg/1 mL (NDC 16729-512-43) | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Manufacturing problem Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practices |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .4 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-580-20) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Other |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .4 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-481-10) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .4 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-631-25) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, 0.25 mg/5 mL (0.05 mg/mL) Syringes (NDC 0409-9630-05) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 0517-1001-25) | American Regent, Inc. | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-641-25) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, 1 mg/10 mL (0.1 mg/mL) Syringes (NDC 0409-1630-10) limited | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Other |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, 1 mg/10 mL (0.1 mg/mL) Syringes (NDC 64253-400-91) | Medefil, Inc. | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .4 mg/1 mL (NDC 16729-525-08) | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Manufacturing problem Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practices |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 16729-526-08) | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 1 Jan 2012 | not given | Manufacturing problem Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practices |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .05 mg/1 mL (NDC 16729-483-03) discontinuation | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 1 Jan 2020 | not given | Manufacturing problem Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .1 mg/1 mL (NDC 16729-484-90) discontinuation | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 1 Jan 2020 | not given | Manufacturing problem Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, .1 mg/1 mL (NDC 76329-3340-1) | Amphastar Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 1 Jan 2020 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, 0.1 mg/1 mL (NDC 16729-484-45) | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 1 Jan 2020 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, 0.4 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6251-10) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 20 Dec 2023 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, (Adult) 0.5 mg/5 mL (0.1 mg/mL) LifeShield® ABBOJECT® Glass Syringe (20 G x 1 1/2) (NDC 0409-4910-34)" discontinuation | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 7 Nov 2025 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Atropine Sulfate, Injection, (Adult)1 mg/10 mL (0.1 mg/mL) LifeShield® ABBOJECT® Glass Syringe (20 G x 1 1/2) (NDC 0409-4911-34)" discontinuation | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 7 Nov 2025 | not given | Not stated |
| FR | Atropine 0,5%, collyre limited | 28 Jun 2024 | not given | Not stated | |
| FR | Atropine 1%, collyre limited | 22 Sep 2024 | not given | Not stated | |
| FR | Atropine 0,3%, collyre discontinuation | 29 Dec 2025 | not given | Not stated | |
| FR | Atropine 1% Faure, collyre en solution en récipient unidose limited | 1 Sep 2026 | not given | Not stated | |
| IE | Minims Atropine Sulphate 1% Eye Drops, solution | Bausch + Lomb Ireland Limited | 16 Oct 2026 | not given | Manufacturing problem Manufacturing delay |
| CZ | ATROPIN BBP 0,5MG/ML 0,5MG/ML INJ SOL 10X1ML | BB Pharma a.s., Praha | 19 Oct 2026 | 20 Nov 2026 | Manufacturing problem Výrobní důvody |
| SE | Atropin Viatris 0,5 mg/ml Injektionsflaska, 20 ml | 31 Jan 2026 | not given | Not stated |
"Expected back" is the date the company gave the authority, when it gave one. Ask a pharmacist about alternatives.