Home / Morphine / United States
US ATC N02AA01 · updated 2 Nov 2026
Morphine shortage in United States
Is there a Morphine shortage in United States?
Yes. As of 2 Nov 2026, 30 Morphine products are reported short in United States, the first since 31 Oct 2017. No return date has been given. Main reason: not stated.
Also short in Canada, Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, Czechia, Australia. All countries.
Affected products in United States
| Country | Product | Company | Since | Expected back | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | Mitigo, Injection, 200 mg/20 mL (NDC 66794-160-02) | Piramal Critical Care Inc. | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Mitigo, Injection, 500 mg/20 mL (NDC 66794-162-02) | Piramal Critical Care Inc. | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-451-01) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 10 mg/10 mL (1 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-3815-12) limited | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-452-01) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-004-11) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-454-01) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-005-11) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-455-01) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Increased demand Demand increase for the drug |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 5 mg/10 mL (0.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-3814-12) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 50 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1896-20) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 50 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-2022-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1893-01) discontinuation | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Manufacturing problem Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1890-23) limited | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1890-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1891-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Duramorph, Injection, .5 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6020-10) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 3 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Duramorph, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6019-10) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 3 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Infumorph 200 (Preservative-Free Morphine Sulfate Sterile Solution), Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6039-01) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 3 Nov 2017 | not given | Increased demand Demand increase for the drug |
| US | Infumorph 500 (Preservative-Free Morphine Sulfate Sterile Solution), Injection, 25 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6040-01) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 3 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6127-25) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 3 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6125-25) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 3 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 8 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6126-25) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 3 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 76329-1912-1) | Amphastar Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 6 Dec 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Tablet, 15 mg (NDC 0832-0273-11) discontinuation | Upsher-Smith Laboratories, LLC | 22 Dec 2025 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Tablet, 30 mg (NDC 0832-0274-11) discontinuation | Upsher-Smith Laboratories, LLC | 22 Dec 2025 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Suppository, 10 mg (NDC 0574-7112-12) discontinuation | Padagis US LLC | 23 Jul 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Suppository, 20 mg (NDC 0574-7114-12) discontinuation | Padagis US LLC | 23 Jul 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Suppository, 30 mg (NDC 0574-7116-12) discontinuation | Padagis US LLC | 23 Jul 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Morphine Sulfate, Suppository, 5 mg (NDC 0574-7110-12) discontinuation | Padagis US LLC | 23 Jul 2026 | not given | Not stated |
Source
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Drug Shortages via openFDA. Official list. Shortages the FDA lists as current, plus products to be discontinued; one row per package (NDC).