Home / Hydromorphone / United States
US ATC N02AA03 · updated 2 Nov 2026
Hydromorphone shortage in United States
Is there a Hydromorphone shortage in United States?
Yes. As of 2 Nov 2026, 27 Hydromorphone products are reported short in United States, the first since 31 Oct 2017. No return date has been given. Main reason: not stated.
Also short in Canada, Germany, Switzerland, Sweden. All countries.
Affected products in United States
| Country | Product | Company | Since | Expected back | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | Dilaudid, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-009-06) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Dilaudid, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-009-11) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1283-37) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-852-25) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1283-31) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-2634-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-10) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-15) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-50) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1312-36) limited | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-3365-10) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-853-25) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1312-30) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1304-31) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 50 mg/5 mL (10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2634-05) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 500 mg/50 mL (10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2634-50) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 31 Oct 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Dilaudid, Injection, .2 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-121-11) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Dilaudid, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-010-11) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 0.25 mg/ 0.5 mL NexJect™ Single-dose Syringe Luer Lock (no needle) (NDC 0409-1805-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 0.5 mg/0.5 mL NexJect™ Single-dose Syringe Luer Lock (no needle) (NDC 0409-4264-01) limited | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0018-01) | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0110-03) | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0113-03) limited | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Other |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6254-01) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Increased demand Demand increase for the drug |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-854-10) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 1 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-0121-25) | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 3 Nov 2017 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Suppository, 3 mg (NDC 0574-7224-06) discontinuation | Padagis US LLC | 23 Jul 2026 | not given | Not stated |
Source
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Drug Shortages via openFDA. Official list. Shortages the FDA lists as current, plus products to be discontinued; one row per package (NDC).