Home / Bupivacaine / United States
US ATC N01BB01 · updated 2 Nov 2026
Bupivacaine shortage in United States
Is there a Bupivacaine shortage in United States?
Yes. As of 2 Nov 2026, 62 Bupivacaine products are reported short in United States, the first since 20 Feb 2018. No return date has been given. Main reason: not stated.
Also short in Canada, Italy, Austria, Czechia, Sweden, New Zealand, Australia. All countries.
Affected products in United States
| Country | Product | Company | Since | Expected back | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride PRESERVATIVE FREE, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL 5mg / 1mL (NDC 72266-263-10) | ONESOURCE SPECIALTY PTE LTD | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1160-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1162-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-275-32) | Aspiro Pharma Limited | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-275-34) | Aspiro Pharma Limited | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-167-10) | Eugia US LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-168-30) | Eugia US LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-249-50) | Eugia US LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-01) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-10) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-25) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-723-52) limited | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Manufacturing problem Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1165-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1159-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1163-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-276-32) | Aspiro Pharma Limited | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-276-34) | Aspiro Pharma Limited | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-169-10) | Eugia US LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-170-30) | Eugia US LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-250-50) | Eugia US LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-01) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-10) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-25) | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-726-52) limited | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Manufacturing problem Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1162-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1165-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-277-32) | Aspiro Pharma Limited | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-277-34) | Aspiro Pharma Limited | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-171-10) | Eugia US LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-172-30) | Eugia US LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 73293-0002-2) | Huons Co., Ltd | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Increased demand Demand increase for the drug |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1159-02) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, Bupivacaine Spinal 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL in 8.25% dextrose) (NDC 0409-3613-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL) in Dextrose 8.25% (NDC 0409-1761-10) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Other |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (NDC 0409-1761-62) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1160-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 75 mg/10 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1165-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-17) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-31) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Increased demand Demand increase for the drug |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-37) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-465-57) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-17) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-31) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Distribution or logistics Delay in shipping of the drug |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-37) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-467-57) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-472-17) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-472-37) | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-722-32) limited | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Manufacturing problem Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-725-32) limited | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Manufacturing problem Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-728-32) limited | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Manufacturing problem Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1530-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, 225 mg/30 mL (NDC 0409-2253-25) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2510-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (NDC 0409-0525-25) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-5010-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-7535-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2253-01) | Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 20 Feb 2018 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-723-52) discontinuation | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 5 May 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-726-52) discontinuation | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 5 May 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-722-32) discontinuation | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 5 May 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-725-32) discontinuation | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 5 May 2026 | not given | Not stated |
| US | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-728-32) discontinuation | Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 5 May 2026 | not given | Not stated |
Source
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Drug Shortages via openFDA. Official list. Shortages the FDA lists as current, plus products to be discontinued; one row per package (NDC).